English official language countries

Being one of the most important languages of business throughout the world makes English speaking jobs very easy to encounter!. There are six official languages of the UN. There are about a dozen African countries where English is an official language. Almost every country has its own languages and English is widely spoken in Europe. The language has developed over 1,400 years and is now the second most learned language in the world. The English spoken in this country is referred to as Singapore English. On the other hand, English is spreading in europe as one of the main language. No other country may be considered as being 'majority English speaking' for visa purposes. Most Caribbean countries have a European language (English, Spanish, French or Dutch) as one of their official languages. For instance, Spanish is the official language in Cuba and the Dominican Republic. In fact, English is recognized as an official language in a total of 67 different countries, as well as 27 non-sovereign entities. A map of countries where Russian is widely spoken.

Europe is a continent with many countries (about 50) and almost each country has its own language, known as the national language. Most Widely Spoken Languages ___ Official and Spoken Languages of European Countries. This is a list of countries where: English is considered to be the official language ; or the de facto language, that is the language used by the majority of speakers but not considered the official language. These are Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. The English language originated in Britain and the ever-expanding British Empire helped to spread the Modern English around the world during the 18th and 19th centuries.

The United Kingdom, Ireland, Netherlands, Sweden, Malta and Denmark are the countries where people with very good knowledge of English. French is the official language in Guadelupe, Haiti and Martinique. This language has been important in Singapore since 1819, when British colonialists established a trading post here. There are approximately 6.5 million native English speakers and 700 million non-native English speakers in Africa. Notable exceptions include Rwanda , which was a former Belgian colony, and Eritrea , which was an Italian colony where the British Empire controlled it only in World War II and shortly after (1941–1952). Countries with four official languages include Austria, Bahrain, Spain and Singapore, according to the Indy100, which used data from the CIA Factbook and InfoPlease. List of official, national and spoken Languages of Europe. English here isn’t the primary language but has been used for the official and educational purposes thus given status official. This country was a British colony until 1965, with English serving as the official language of … You won´t have to go far to find an English speaking country in Europe as there are over 370 million English speakers out of about 450 million EU residents! In addition to the above mentioned countries in which Russian is an official language, there are several other countries where Russian, though not official, is an important secondary language. Russian, German, French, Italian, and English are the official languages of many European countries.

India has two official languages, Hindi and English. *Applicants presenting Canadian degrees or postgraduate diplomas will not normally need to provide other evidence of English language ability so long as they supply sufficient proof from the institution that the degree was taught and examined in English. Venezuela In India, English is the second language. Uruguay: Spanish : Portunol, or Brazilero (Portuguese-Spanish mix on the Brazilian frontier). ; Non-sovereign entities are not included: The countries where English is legally the official language are following. In Sri Lanka, English is used in government but only spoken by about 10% of the general population. Some countries have even more than one national language. Most countries where English is a prominent or official language are former colonies of the British Empire. No other country may be considered as being 'majority English speaking' for visa purposes. List of Countries, Languages, Inhabitants, Capitals in Africa - Learning English Countries where English is a de jure, official language are India, Philippines, Pakistan and Singapore. Moreover, it is a major business language, as well as the official language of a number of the world’s most important institutions, including the United Nations, NATO and the European Union. About 90% of native English speakers are in the United Kingdom and Ireland. importantly, over 200 indigenous languages remains and some are endangered. This is why many of the countries where English is an official language were former British colonies, including Canada, Australia, South Africa and the United States. English is the most widely used official language in the world, although perhaps surprisingly it does not have official status in the UK (Welsh is the UK's only official language) or Australia, where many indigenous and minority … It is the official language of many countries and also one of the official languages in about 60 sovereign states.